As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases from amazon.com

delete your Telegram account (additionally remotely)


How do you delete your Telegram account? On this tutorial, NextPit exhibits you find out how to completely take away your Telegram account. It is even attainable to schedule a self-destruct – or to delete the account remotely in case of theft.

Telegram did not persuade you as an alternative choice to WhatsApp and also you wish to delete your account for good? Or possibly your smartphone was stolen and also you wish to remotely delete your Telegram account or at the least lock out the thieves? There are a number of choices out there – whether or not you are utilizing Android or iPhone.

Content material of this text:

delete your Telegram account

If you wish to delete your Telegram account, the simplest means to take action is to go to the appropriate Telegram page. There you may must enter your cellphone quantity and the verification code, which you’ll obtain by way of message.

Necessary: Deleting your Telegram account should be confirmed via your account and isn’t reversible. Telegram recommends not to do that by way of the smartphone browser. By the way in which, you’re going to get the code to delete the account by way of Telegram and never by way of textual content message.

Warning: It must be clear in any case – however should you delete your Telegram account, all messages and contacts are additionally completely deleted. Teams and channels you created will stay with out homeowners, the directors will maintain their rights although, and your former contacts will nonetheless be capable to chat there. Additionally your messages will stay seen (until they’re self-deleting messages).

telegram how to delete account 2
Cautious: It is not attainable to recuperate a deleted Telegram account. / © Telegram

As defined above: deleting a Telegram account is irreversible. Once you register once more, you may be proven as a brand new person. You’ll not get your message historical past, contacts, or teams again.

Customers who’ve your cellphone quantity of their contact listing will obtain a notification about your new account. This new person will then seem as a separate dialog within the message listing, the chat historical past will logically be empty.

set your Telegram account to self-destruct

One other approach to delete your Telegram account is to make use of the self-destruct function. The Telegram account could be set to self-destruct after a interval of inactivity.

In follow, this can be a means for Telegram to save lots of space for storing on its servers by routinely deleting inactive accounts. But it surely’s additionally a means so that you can destroy your account, for instance in case your cellphone is stolen or if one thing occurs to you.

Here is how you intend to self-destruct your Telegram account on Android:

  1. Launch Telegram, open Settings and go to Privateness and Safety.
  2. Right here, beneath Delete my account, choose If away for.
  3. Resolve for both 1 month / 3 months / 6 months / 1 yr
telegram how to autodelete account android 1
You possibly can’t delete your Telegram account immediately within the app, however you may schedule it to self-destruct. / © NextPit

Here is find out how to schedule the self-destruction of your Telegram account on iOS:

  1. Additionally in Telegram, go to Settings and discover Privateness and Safety.
  2. Beneath Delete my account, choose the If away for possibility on the backside.
  3. Additionally select between 1 month / 3 months / 6 months / 1 yr
telegram how to autodelete account ios
The process on iOS is sort of equivalent to the one on Android / © NextPit

By inactivity, Telegram clearly means “not logged into the account” throughout the set interval. So even should you do not ship any messages, your account will not be routinely deleted after the time restrict expires. The one factor that issues is whether or not you’re logged in or not.

Nonetheless, should you cease utilizing Telegram and do not log in throughout the time restrict, the account shall be deleted from the Telegram cloud together with all messages, media, contacts, and some other information.

remotely delete a Telegram account in case of theft

Has your smartphone been stolen? To lock the thieves out of your Telegram account or delete the account altogether, there are a number of steps concerned – and the secret’s whether or not or not you’ve got entry to your account from one other system.

Telegram at all times requires entry to your cellphone quantity to delete/deactivate the account. Yeah, that is sort of WhatsApp-2015ish. However “we do not accumulate any further details about you, so whoever has the quantity owns the account,” Telegram justifies itself in its FAQ. Truthful sufficient.

So you may want an lively Telegram session on a tool aside from your stolen smartphone.

You probably have entry to the Telegram account on one other system:

  1. Together with your account, go to Settings, then Privateness and Safety.
  2. Within the Safety part, allow Two-Step Verification and set a password.
telegram how to two step verification
On iOS, the process for enabling two-factor authentication is identical as on Android. / © NextPit

So thieves can not log in with simply your cellphone quantity, they want a password. Now it is nonetheless a matter of kicking the miscreants out of your account:

  1. Go to Settings after which to Privateness and Safety
  2. Faucet on Lively Periods
  3. You possibly can then both Terminate all different classes or choose the session of your alternative and shut it individually
telegram how to terminate active sessions
You possibly can disable all outdated classes without delay. / © NextPit

On iOS, you will discover the listing of related gadgets immediately in Settings beneath Gadgets. Right here you may then take away the stolen smartphone.

For those who do not need entry to your Telegram account from one other system:

If you do not have one other system with entry to your Telegram account, not all is misplaced. Shortly ask your cellular service to deactivate your SIM card and ship you a brand new one with the identical cellphone quantity.

When you obtain the brand new SIM card:

  1. Log in to your Telegram account along with your quantity and password.
  2. Go to Settings after which to Privateness and Safety
  3. Beneath Lively Periods, choose the stolen cellphone and finish the session

Your account will then be disconnected on the stolen smartphone, and thieves will not be capable to reconnect to it. Alternatively, you can even delete the account utterly utilizing the above steps. In any case, should you deactivate your stolen SIM shortly and get a brand new one, you ought to be secure from hassle.

Observe that Telegram requires the brand new session to have been lively for at the least 24 hours on a brand new system with a view to deactivate outdated classes. So you may want to attend at the least 24 hours after connecting to your new SIM.

That is it for this tutorial, did you discover it helpful? Ought to Telegram make it simpler to delete accounts? We’re trying ahead to your suggestions within the feedback.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Scatteredbuys
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0
Shopping cart