As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases from amazon.com

How you can Watch the ISS Relocate Crew Dragon for Starliner


It’s a busy time on the Worldwide House Station, with not solely a new Russian module arriving this week, but additionally preparations starting for the orbital take a look at flight of the Boeing Starliner on the finish of this month. To organize for the uncrewed mission’s arrival, the astronauts onboard the station have to relocate the SpaceX Crew Dragon, which is at the moment docked.

If you wish to watch alongside because the astronauts shuffle across the SpaceX craft, we’ve obtained the main points on the right way to watch the occasion reside on-line.

Why the Crew Dragon is relocating

The SpaceX Crew Dragon Endeavour during its approach to the International Space Station.
The SpaceX Crew Dragon Endeavour is pictured throughout its strategy to the Worldwide House Station on April 24, lower than someday after launching from Kennedy House Heart in Florida. NASA

The Crew Dragon must be moved round to the space-facing facet of the station to make room for the brand new Boeing Starliner to dock with the station’s ahead port. The Starliner shall be performing an uncrewed take a look at mission known as Orbital Flight Check-2 (OFT-2) in preparation for its use as a crew capsule, ferrying astronauts between Earth and the ISS.

The OFT-2 mission is scheduled for launch on July 30, after a series of delays as a result of each the coronavirus pandemic and different points. This shall be its second orbital flight take a look at, after the primary take a look at in December 2019 failed to reach the ISS and subsequent investigations revealed a lot of probably severe points.

The OFT-2 shall be launched on a United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket, and if all goes effectively, then the primary crewed take a look at flight is scheduled for later this yr, known as the Boeing Crew Flight Check.

How you can watch the relocation

The relocation of the Crew Dragon shall be proven reside on NASA TV. You may watch this channel on-line both by utilizing the video hyperlink embedded on the prime of this web page or by heading to NASA’s website.

Protection of the relocation begins at 6:30 a.m. ET (3:30 a.m. PT) on July 21.

4 astronauts will board the Crew Dragon early that morning at 4:30 a.m. ET (1:30 a.m. PT). They are going to be NASA astronauts Shane Kimbrough and  Megan McArthur, plus JAXA (Japan Aerospace Exploration Company) astronaut Akihiko Hoshide and ESA (European House Company) astronaut Thomas Pesquet. They may undock the Crew Dragon from the area station’s Concord module at 6:45 a.m. ET (3:45 a.m. PT).

The astronauts will then transfer the Crew Dragon over to the station’s space-facing port and re-dock, which is scheduled for 7:32 a.m. ET (4:32 a.m. PT).

Editors’ Suggestions






We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Scatteredbuys
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0
Shopping cart